Link to MamasHealth.com

 

Gluten free foods

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the storage protein in barley, rye, oats and wheat. With repeated consumption of gluten-containing foods, people with Celiac disease and sensitivity to gluten can experience ongoing diarrhea, bloating, weight loss and vitamin deficiencies.

Gluten Free Diets

A gluten-free diet is necessary for people who have celiac disease or dermatitis herpetiformis. Dermatitis herpetiformis is a gluten induced skin sensitivity.

Food Products

Foods Allowed

Foods to Question

Foods Not Allowed

 

Milk Products

Milk, cream, most ice cream, buttermilk, plain yogurt, cheese, cream cheese, processed cheese, processed cheese foods, cottage cheese

Milk drinks, flavored yogurt, frozen yogurt, sour cream, cheese sauces, cheese spreads

Malted milk, ice cream made with ingredients not allowed

Grain Products

Breads: Bread and baked products containing amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn bran, corn flour, corn meal, cornstarch, flax, legume flours (bean, garbanzo or chickpea, garfava, lentil, pea), millet, potato flour, potato starch, quinoa, rice bran, rice flours (white, brown, sweet), sago, sorghum flour, soy flour, sweet potato flour, tapioca and teff

Buckwheat flour

Bread and baked products containing wheat, rye, triticale, barley, oats, wheat germ, wheat bran, graham flour, gluten flour, durum flour, wheat starch, oat bran, bulgur, farina, wheat based semolina, spelt, kamut, einkorn, emmer, farro, imported foods labelled “Gluten-free” which may contain ingredients not allowed, e.g. wheat starch.

 

Cereals:

Hot: Amaranth flakes, cornmeal, cream of buckwheat, cream of rice (brown, white), hominy grits, rice flakes, quinoa flakes, soy flakes and soy grits

Cold: Puffed amaranth, puffed buckwheat, puffed corn, puffed millet, puffed rice, rice flakes and soy cereals

Rice and corn cereals, rice and soy pablum

Cereals made from wheat, rye, triticale, barley and oats; cereals with added malt extract or malt flavoring

 

Pastas: Macaroni, spaghetti, and noodles from beans, corn, pea, potato, quinoa, rice, soy and wild rice

Buckwheat pasta

Pasta made from wheat, wheat starch and other ingredients not allowed

 

Miscellaneous: Corn tacos, corn tortillas

Rice crackers, some rice cakes and popped corn cakes

Wheat flour tacos, wheat tortillas

Meats and Alternatives

Meat, Fish, Poultry: Fresh

Prepared or preserved meats such as luncheon meat, ham, bacon, meat and sandwich spreads, meat loaf, frozen meat patties, sausages, paté, wieners, bologna, salami, imitation meat or fish products, meat product extenders

Fish canned in vegetable broth containing HVP/HPP where the source is not identified or is from wheat protein

 

Eggs: Fresh eggs

Egg substitutes, dried eggs

 

 

Others: lentils, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), peas, beans, nuts, seeds, tofu

Baked beans, dry roasted nuts, peanut butter

 

Fruits and Vegetables

Fruits: Fresh, frozen and canned fruits and juices

Vegetables: Fresh, frozen, dried and canned

Fruit pie fillings, dried fruits, fruits or vegetables with sauces

French-fried potatoes (esp. those in restaurants)

Scalloped potatoes (containing wheat flour)

Battered dipped vegetables

Soups

Homemade broth, gluten-free bouillon cubes, cream soups and stocks made from ingredients allowed

Canned soups, dried soup mixes, soup bases and bouillon cubes

Soups made with ingredients not allowed, bouillon and bouillon cubes containing HVP, HPP or wheat

Fats

Butter, margarine, lard, vegetable oil, cream, shortening, homemade salad dressing with allowed ingredients

Salad dressings, some mayonnaise

Packaged suet

Desserts

Ice cream, sherbet, whipped toppings, egg custards, gelatin desserts; cakes, cookies, pastries made with allowed ingredients, Gluten-free ice cream cones, wafers and waffles

Milk puddings, custard powder, pudding mixes

Ice cream made with ingredients not allowed; cakes, cookies, muffins, pies and pastries made with ingredients not allowed; ice cream cones, wafers and waffles made with ingredients not allowed

Miscellaneous

Beverages: Tea, instant or ground coffee (regular or decaffeinated), cocoa, soft drinks, cider; distilled alcoholic beverages such as rum, gin, whiskey, vodka, wines and pure liqueurs; some soy and rice beverages

Instant tea, coffee substitutes, fruit-flavored drinks, chocolate drinks, chocolate mixes, flavored and herbal teas

Beer, ale and lager; cereal and malted beverages; soy or rice beverages made with barley or oats

 

Sweets: Honey, jam, jelly, marmalade, corn syrup, maple syrup, molasses, sugar (brown and white)

Icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar), candies, chocolate bars, chewing gum, marshmallows and lemon curd

Licorice, Smarties® and other candies made with ingredients not allowed

 

Snack foods: Plain popcorn, nuts and soy nuts

Dry roasted nuts, flavored potato chips, tortilla chips and soy nuts

Pizza, unless made with ingredients allowed

 

Condiments: Plain pickles, relish, olives, ketchup, mustard, tomato paste, pure herbs and spices, pure black pepper, vinegars (apple or cider, distilled white, grape or wine, spirit), gluten-free soy sauce

Seasoning mixes, imitation pepper

Soy sauce (made from wheat), mustard pickles (made from wheat flour), Malt vinegar, Worcestershire sauce (contains malt vinegar)

 

 

Other: Sauces and gravies made with ingredients allowed, pure cocoa, pure baking chocolate, carob chips and powder, chocolate chips, monosodium glutamate (MSG), cream of tartar, baking soda, yeast, brewer’s yeast, aspartame, coconut, gluten-free communion wafers

Baking powder

Sauces and gravies made from ingredients not allowed, hydrolyzed vegetable/plant protein (HVP/HPP), communion wafers

We'll teach you how to #LiveTo100!

Join our newsletter!

Accessibility Policy| Terms Of Use| Privacy Policy| Advertise with Us| Contact Us| Newsletter

RSS| Sitemap| Careers

Mamas Health Inc. does not provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment and use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use.

©2000 - 2017 MamasHealth, Inc.™. All rights reserved